Mane and Carballo share opening honours at Louis Philippe Cup

Tue 31 Jul 2018

Mane and Carballo share opening honours at Louis Philippe Cup


Bengaluru, India, July 31: Local hope Udayan Mane and Miguel Carballo of Argentina shared the opening round lead after shooting matching seven-under-par 63s at the US$75,000 Louis Philippe Cup on Tuesday.

The 27-year-old Mane was flawless in his round while Asian Development Tour (ADT) regular Carballo registered eight birdies against one bogey at the Prestige Golfshire Club.

Indians Divyanshu Bajaj and Om Prakash Chouhan were a further two shots back alongside Sam Gillis of the United States in tied third place.

Former PGA Tour player Carballo is one of the most consistent players without a win on the ADT so far this year. Playing in his first year on the ADT, the Argentinian has five top-10 results including a second place finish.

He took advantage of a hot putter and a sharp-shooting game to share the opening round honours with Mane, who is also searching for his first ADT title this week.

“My tee shots were very good and I gave myself a lot of opportunities to make birdies. The first shot is important and if you hit a good tee shot, the hole becomes easy. I’m feeling more comfortable in Asia now,” said the 39-year-old Carballo.

Mane, a multiple winner on the PGTI, was delighted with his error-free start highlighted by three straight birdies from the 11th hole.  

“I played a bogey free round, but the course was very challenging and for once not to be taken for granted. I am glad to be in the joint lead but we still have three more days to go. The plan forward is to execute as per the plans as the course is set up in such a way that there isn’t any margin for errors,” said the India.

The Louis Philippe Cup is the 11th leg on the ADT’s 2018 schedule. The leading seven players on the ADT Order of Merit at the end of the season will earn playing rights on the Asian Tour for the 2019 season.

Leading round 1 scores:

63 - Miguel CARBALLO (ARG) , Udayan MANE (IND)

65 - Sam GILLIS (USA) , Divyanshu BAJAJ (IND) , Om Prakash CHOUHAN (IND)

66 - Khalin JOSHI (IND) , Harendra GUPTA (IND)

67 - Manu GANDAS (IND) , Yashas CHANDRA MS (IND) , Sachin BAISOYA (IND) , Mukesh KUMAR (IND)

68 - Hemendra CHOUDHARY (IND) , Marcus BOTH (AUS) , Deepinder Singh KULLAR (IND) , Shivendra Singh SISODIA (IND) , Pawan KUMAR (IND) , Arjun SHARMA (IND)

69 - Syed Saqib AHMED (IND) , Tarik CAN (USA) , Rahil GANGJEE (IND) , Varanyu RATTANAPHIBOONKIJ (THA) , C G SOMIAH (IND) , Kapil KUMAR (IND) , Erwan VIEILLEDENT (FRA) , Mithun PERERA (SRI) , Shohei HASEGAWA (JPN) , Manish GOYAL (IND)

70 - Justin DE LOS SANTOS (USA) , Aadil BEDI (A) (IND) , Digraj Singh GILL (USA) , Shinichi MIZUNO (JPN) , Janne KASKE (FIN) , Gaurav Pratap SINGH (IND) , Josh SALAH (USA) , Vikrant CHOPRA (IND) , Dhruv SHEORAN (IND) , Akshay SHARMA (IND) , Sanjeev KUMAR (L) (IND) , Mohammad SANJU (IND) , Rashid KHAN (IND) , Karan TAUNK (IND) , Sudhir SHARMA (IND) , Sanjay KUMAR (IND)

About Asian Development Tour

The Asian Development Tour was launched in 2010 with the aim of creating a career pathway for professional golfers in Asia. Sanctioned by the Asian Tour, the Asian Development Tour will ultimately create a new playing platform for emerging stars from across Asia and around the world. Through the Asian Tour Qualifying School, players will qualify for the Asian Development Tour and enjoy the opportunity to hone their games and talent through a secondary circuit in Asia. Designed in the same structure as the Tour in America and European Challenge Tour, the Asian Development Tour is a stepping stone to the Asian Tour and the exciting world of international golf. The Asian Development Tour has been structured to ensure the best opportunities for its members. The leading five players on the Asian Development Tour will earn coveted Asian Tour cards for the following season, ensuring a proper career pathway for aspiring professionals. All ADT events receive Official World Golf Ranking points.